Formula · 7.7

Brand · 7.7

AXIS-Y · niacinamide and plant extracts · South Korea

AXIS-Y Dark Spot Correcting Glow Serum

AXIS-Y Dark Spot Correcting Glow Serum
7.7

LabReadAI label score

How the score is calculated
  • Actives and evidence0.7Actives with strong evidence: 1 of 5
  • Active concentration1.0Actives sit above the 1 % line — by list order a working concentration is 94 % likely
  • Completeness for the purpose0.5For “dark spots and uneven tone” — 54 %; retinoid; glycolic acid; could be added without conflict: retinoid, glycolic acid; below threshold: niacinamide (vitamin b3); a formula with one main purpose
  • Tolerance1.0No ingredients from irritant or allergen lists
  • adults
  • pregnancyallowed per the leaflet
  • oily skin
  • acne-prone
  • atopic skin
  • dry skin
  • children
  • sensitive skinat 10 % flushing is possible
  • rosaceaask a dermatologist
Free from:
  • alcohol (alcohol denat) · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “denatured alcohol” group — evaporates fast and degreases; frequent contact can dry the skin — a tolerance question, not a regulatory one; does not clog pores
  • sulfates (SLS/SLES) · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “ammonium laureth sulfate (ALES), ammonium lauryl sulfate (ALS), sodium coco-sulfate, sodium laureth sulfate (SLES), sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS), sodium myreth sulfate, TEA-lauryl sulfate” group — a cleansing surfactant from the sulfate family but with an ethoxylated chain: it cleanses more gently than lauryl sulfate. Still not for those looking for a sulfate-free product.
  • formaldehyde releasers · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “formaldehyde releasers” group — preservatives that slowly release formaldehyde; allowed at low levels but a frequent cause of contact allergy
  • isothiazolinones (MIT/MCI) · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “isothiazolinone preservatives (MIT/MCI)” group — preservatives; banned in EU leave-on products and limited in rinse-off (0.0015%) — a frequent cause of contact allergy
  • fragrance · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “fragrance and its allergens” group — the fragrance and its aromatic components; the EU requires 26 of them to be listed separately — matters to people allergic to fragrance, does not affect how the product works
  • parabens · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “parabens” group — preservatives; methyl- and ethylparaben are recognised as safe at permitted levels, propyl- and butyl- are limited by the EU to 0.14 %; a frequent buyer question rather than proven harm
  • mineral oils and petrolatum · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “petrolatum and mineral oils” group — purified cosmetic-grade petroleum products: form a protective barrier film; safety is established, a preference question; 0–2 of 5 (depends on the raw-material source), cosmetic white oil per DiNardo (2005) is non-comedogenic
  • soap · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “potassium soap (potassium cocoate), plant soap base (sodium palmate, sodium cocoate), tallow soap base (sodium tallowate)” group — liquid soap: fatty acids boiled with alkali. It cleanses well, but its acidity is around 9-10 against 5 for skin, which is why it often leaves tightness. The product is rinsed off, so the question is tolerance.
  • silicones · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “silicones” group — form a smooth film and shine; inert and not absorbed — a preference question, not a safety one
  • gelatin in the coating · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “vegetarian coating” group — a plant-based tablet coating instead of gelatin; it keeps moisture out and makes swallowing easier
  • toning dyes · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “violet toning dyes” group — direct dyes that settle on the hair surface and cancel the yellow cast of blonde; they wash out in 1–3 washes and leave a lilac tint if left too long; HC Blue 2 and Disperse Violet 1 are known contact allergens of hair dyes
  • tar · by the listthe list has no ingredient of the “wood (birch) tar” group — a traditional remedy for dandruff and itching with a sharp smell; it reduces flaking, but can irritate a sensitive scalp and dries the hair
What for: Against dark spots you need two fronts: actives that slow pigment production (azelaic and tranexamic acids, niacinamide, vitamin C, arbutin, thiamidol) and those that speed up skin renewal (a retinoid, acids). One active per front is enough; better both fronts and SPF in the daytime.
When:
  • leave-on
  • morning
  • evening
morning and evening, on clean skin
When to expect an effect: tone, pores — 4–8 weeks; sebum — 2–4; hydration — immediately; lasting effect — 2–4 weeks; softness — right away; dryness — 1–2 weeks; soothing and less tightness — within days; soothing — days; no notable healing to expect
What is normal: mild flushing in the first days at high concentration; nothing special — well tolerated

Ingredients — 24 components · 5 work

What works: 5 of 24 ingredients: niacinamide, hyaluronic acid, squalane and 2 more. Against dark spots you need two fronts: actives that slow pigment production (azelaic and tranexamic acids, niacinamide, vitamin C, arbutin, thiamidol) and those that speed up skin renewal (a retinoid, acids). One active per front is enough; better both fronts and SPF in the daytime.

Strengths: active concentration, tolerance

What lowers the score: actives and evidence: actives with strong evidence: 1 of 5; completeness for the purpose: for “dark spots and uneven tone” — 54 %

Questions: no debatable ingredients in the formula

  • Water base: coating, fillers · water — the solvent and base; listed first because there is more of it than anything else; in supplements — part of the capsule shell
  • Glycerin base: coating, fillers · a humectant: coats the tablet, holds moisture in creams and shampoos; does not clog pores
  • Niacinamide works · the active ingredient — what the product is for; form: niacinamide
  • Sodium Hyaluronate works · the active ingredient — what the product is for; form: sodium hyaluronate
  • Propanediol base: coating, fillers · a humectant and solvent from corn sugar: it holds water and helps actives dissolve. A gentler replacement for propylene glycol.
  • Erythritol base: coating, fillers · draws water in and holds it in the upper layer of the skin
  • Butylene Glycol base: coating, fillers · a humectant and solvent: it makes the texture lighter and helps actives spread. Better tolerated than propylene glycol.
  • Squalane works · the active ingredient — what the product is for; form: squalane (saturated, from olive or sugarcane)
  • Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract base: coating, fillers · plant and algae extracts and floral waters: flavouring and marketing components — at these shares there is no proven effect on the skin; rare reactions in people allergic to that particular plant
  • Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract works · the active ingredient — what the product is for; form: flower extract
  • Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract base: coating, fillers · plant and algae extracts and floral waters: flavouring and marketing components — at these shares there is no proven effect on the skin; rare reactions in people allergic to that particular plant
  • Hippophae Rhamnoides Fruit Extract base: coating, fillers · plant and algae extracts and floral waters: flavouring and marketing components — at these shares there is no proven effect on the skin; rare reactions in people allergic to that particular plant
  • Malpighia Glabra (Acerola) Fruit Extract base: coating, fillers · softens the skin and helps it hold water — the most common role in creams
  • Polyglyceryl-10 Laurate base: coating, fillers · softens the skin and helps it hold water — the most common role in creams
  • Chlorphenesin base: coating, fillers · a preservative, usually paired with phenoxyethanol. Permitted in the EU up to 0.3 %.
  • Arginine base: coating, fillers · amino acids, lipids and sugars akin to the skin’s own components — support for its barrier
  • Ethylhexylglycerin base: coating, fillers · a preservative booster and skin-conditioning ingredient: it barely preserves on its own but helps phenoxyethanol work and lowers the amount needed.
  • Carbomer base: coating, fillers · hold the texture: gels, creams and foam do not separate
  • Glutathione base: coating, fillers · breaks chemical bonds — how perm products work
  • 1,2-Hexanediol base: coating, fillers · a solvent and humectant with antimicrobial action: it helps the product keep without classic preservatives.
  • Hydroxypropyl Cyclodextrin base: coating, fillers · a ring of sugars with a cavity inside: it hides an unstable or poorly soluble ingredient there and releases it to the skin gradually; it has no action of its own on the skin
  • Disodium EDTA base: coating, fillers · bind hard-water metals so the formula stays stable and the foam works
  • Hydroxyethylcellulose base: coating, fillers · hold the texture: gels, creams and foam do not separate
  • Allantoin works · the active ingredient — what the product is for; form: allantoin
  • Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil base: coating, fillers · softens the skin and helps it hold water — the most common role in creams

AXIS-Y Dark Spot Correcting Glow Serum is a product whose active ingredient is niacinamide (vitamin b3) + hyaluronic acid + squalane + allantoin. The concentration is not declared, but the active sits above the 1 % line in the list — a working share is likely. The effect is supported by studies: niacinamide (vitamin b3). The effect is moderately supported: hyaluronic acid, allantoin. There is little evidence of effect: squalane, calendula extract. The formula has 24 ingredients, 5 of which do the work; the rest is the formula base. Against dark spots you need two fronts: actives that slow pigment production (azelaic and tranexamic acids, niacinamide, vitamin C, arbutin, thiamidol) and those that speed up skin renewal (a retinoid, acids). One active per front is enough; better both fronts and SPF in the daytime. By the list, no alcohol (alcohol denat), sulfates (SLS/SLES), formaldehyde releasers, isothiazolinones (MIT/MCI), fragrance, parabens, mineral oils and petrolatum, soap, silicones, gelatin in the coating, toning dyes, tar. Suitable for: adults, pregnancy, oily skin, acne-prone, atopic skin, dry skin, children. sensitive skin, rosacea — ask a doctor. Asteraceae allergy — not without a doctor. Use: morning and evening, on clean skin. When to expect an effect: tone, pores — 4–8 weeks; sebum — 2–4. Label score — 7.7 out of 10 (actives with strong evidence: 1 of 5; actives sit above the 1 % line — by list order a working concentration is 94 % likely; for “dark spots and uneven tone” — 54 %; retinoid; glycolic acid; could be added without conflict: retinoid, glycolic acid; below threshold: niacinamide (vitamin b3); a formula with one main purpose). Rosemary essential oil is a common cause of contact reactions on sensitive skin. The brand does not state the niacinamide share.

Who it does not suit

  • Asteraceae allergychamomile, ragweed, calendula

When to stop: persistent burning — stop; tightness in dry air — apply under a cream; new comedones — stop; itching or rash with Asteraceae allergy — stop

Per the maker's leaflet: Rosemary essential oil is a common cause of contact reactions on sensitive skin. The brand does not state the niacinamide share.

Is this product right for your skin?

The score describes the formula, not your skin: the same product dries one person and saves another. Describe your skin type, reactions and goals, attach a photo of the ingredient list or the product — we will go through every ingredient and say whether it suits you, what to pair it with and what to avoid.

Similar products

Same nutrient and the same purpose — closest by form and dose. Each has its own score by the same method, so you can see whether there is an option nearby that is more honest or simpler in composition.